Social Proof

The Summer I Turned Pretty books in order

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, emails - anything you read - faster.
Gwyneth Paltrow
English Female Voice
Snoop Dogg
English Male Voice
English Male Voice
Mr. Beast
English Male Voice
Try for free

Featured In

Wall Street JournalForbesOCBSTimeThe New York Times
Listen to this article with Speechify!

Start reading The Summer I Turned Pretty books in order and enjoy a coming-of-age love triangle that’s bound to pull at your heartstrings.

The Summer I Turned Pretty book is a bestseller by the American author Jenny Han. While the story gained popularity with the release of the Amazon show, the novel already had millions of fans worldwide.

Many of the show’s fans may have yet to learn that the book series is a trilogy. It's a romantic coming of age story centered on the events of one fateful summer. Here you’ll find the three installments in the correct reading order.

What is The Summer I Turned Pretty series and how to read it in order

The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy starts with a novel of the same name. The first book was released in 2009. The second and third books were released in 2010 and 2011, respectively.

Here's The Summer I Turned Pretty series in order, and a summary of the plot, with just a few minor spoilers.

The Summer I Turned Pretty

The story centers on Isabel "Belly" Conklin and her family, her mother, Laurel, and her older brother Steven.

Every year, they go to her mother's best friend Susanna's home in Cousins Beach to spend the summer with Susannah and her two sons, Conrad and Jeremiah.

At the beginning of the book, Belly, Conrad, and Steven are teenagers. As they become adults, they start exploring love and other life issues.

Belly has always had a crush on Conrad. With Jeremiah, they were only friends. The summer they return to the beach house, Belly has become a beautiful 16-year-old woman catching both brothers' attention.

The story progresses into a dramatic love triangle and a whirlwind romance between Belly and a nice guy named Cam.

However, that's not the only drama coming for them, as it's evident that Susannah is terribly sick.

It’s Not Summer Without You

The trilogy's second book picks up a year after the first one. It's summer again, but this one is different. The family won't go to Cousin Beach because of the year’s terrible events.

Her relationship with Conrad had ended dramatically, and they didn't see each other again until Susannah's funeral.

For Belly, the death of Susannah has her taking care of her distraught mother.

One day Conrad goes missing, and Jeremiah calls Belly to help him search for his brother. The three reunite in the Cousins Beach house, full of memories and nostalgia.

Belly and Conrad come to terms with the end of their relationship, and she starts to build a romantic bond with Jeremiah.

We’ll Always Have Summer

The trilogy's last book, We'll Always Have Summer, finds Belly as a freshman in college. Two years after It's Not Summer Without You. The last few years had been a rollercoaster of emotions for her and the Fisher brothers.

She's only been in love twice in her life, with Conrad and Jeremiah Fisher. But this summer, she has to make the final decision.

While attending the same college, Belly and Jeremiah have been inseparable. However, it's not the kind of love story Belly thought it would be.

When Belly finds out Jeremiah has cheated on her, she wants to end the relationship. In a desperate attempt to amend his mistake, he proposes. Belly hesitantly says yes, although it devolves into many fights with her mother, who thinks she is too young to get married.

Conrad, on the other hand, regrets letting Belly go. He puts Belly in a difficult position when he tells her he loves her.

By the end of the story, she has made up her mind about the Fisher brothers. It’s not until the book’s epilogue that readers discover with whom she ends up.

About Jenny Han, her books, and related media

Jenny Han is the New York Times best-selling author of the young adult romance novels The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy. However, that's only one of her successful works.

She's the executive producer of Netflix's films To All the Boys I've Loved Before, To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You, and To All the Boys: Always and Forever.

The Amazon Prime series is based on the trilogy's first book. However, Prime Video has confirmed a second season that will likely follow the plot of the second book, It's Not Summer Without You.

The bestselling author also has other books, including Burn for Burn, written with Siobhan Vivian. Burn for Burn is also a trilogy. The boxed set includes the three books, Burn for Burn, Fire with Fire, and Ashes to Ashes.

Listen to The Summer I Turned Pretty audiobook on Speechify

If you enjoy listening to the best stories, Speechify has thousands of publishers and free public domain audiobooks available.

The platform allows for single purchases and offers an audiobook subscription for credits to apply toward audiobook purchases. It’s an ideal solution for casual readers and serious bookworms.

Visit Speechify Audiobooks and stream some of the most popular stories, including The Summer I Turned Pretty.


What order do the Jenny Han books go in?

The Summer I Turned Pretty starts with the book of the same title. The sequel is It's Not Summer Without You, and the third book is We'll Always Have Summer.

Is The Summer I Turned Pretty show based on all three books?

The TV show The Summer I Turned Pretty is based only on the trilogy's first book. Amazon Prime has already confirmed a second season.

Does Belly end up with Conrad or Jeremiah?

Spoilers: The Fisher brother Belly chooses to spend the rest of her life with is revealed in the epilogue of the last book. She and Jeremiah had broken off her engagement, and she stayed in touch with Conrad only by letter.

When Conrad shows up at her graduation, they become a couple again. A little over a year after, he proposes.

Why did the author write The Summer I Turned Pretty?

Jenny Han wanted to write a story about girlhood in general. For her, coming of age was a significant period in her life.

Cliff Weitzman

Cliff Weitzman

Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.