Social Proof

Best books by Rick Riordan

Speechify is the #1 audio reader in the world. Get through books, docs, articles, PDFs, emails - anything you read - faster.
Gwyneth Paltrow
English Female Voice
Snoop Dogg
English Male Voice
English Male Voice
Mr. Beast
English Male Voice
Try for free

Featured In

Wall Street JournalForbesOCBSTimeThe New York Times
Listen to this article with Speechify!

Do you want to learn more about Rick Riordan? Read on to discover interesting facts about the author’s life and his greatest works.

Best books by Rick Riordan

Mythology has a unique, timeless appeal for many people. This may be the reason why Rick Riordan’s books have been so popular and successful.

Here we’ll introduce you to Rick Riordan’s life and a list of his greatest works.

A biography of Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 20 novels intended for younger audiences. Born in San Antonio, Texas, in 1964, Riordan attended North Texas State University in Denton but later transferred to the University of Texas, where he got his bachelor’s degree in history and English.

Riordan has a teacher’s certification, which he also got at the University of Texas. He worked as a teacher in Texas and San Francisco for around 15 years, after which he quit and started writing full-time.

Riordan kicked off his writing career with a mystery series featuring Jackson Navarre and published the first book, Big Red Tequila, in 1997. The series is called Tres Navarre.

He didn’t think of writing mythology until his son asked him to tell bedtime stories involving Greek gods. Riordan gathered all his knowledge on the subject, started inventing stories, and that’s how Percy Jackson was born.

The author continued exploring mythology through the Heroes of Olympus series and the sequel series, The Trials of Apollo. The former consists of five books: The Lost Hero, The Son of Neptune, The Mark of Athena, The House of Hades, and The Blood of Olympus.

The Trials of Apollo series also features five titles: The Hidden Oracle, The Dark Prophecy, The Burning Maze, The Tyrant’s Tomb, and The Tower of Nero. There’s also a companion guide to the series called Camp Jupiter Classified.

Riordan also explored Egyptian mythology and wrote The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid, The Throne of Fire, and The Serpent’s Shadow. The companion book is called Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual.

The author then moved on to Norse mythology and wrote Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard trilogy. In 2021, Riordan published Daughter of the Deep.

Riordan created the storyline for the 39 Clues series, which features books from different authors. He wrote the first (The Maze of Bones) and co-wrote the 11th book. The Maze of Bones topped The New York Times Best Seller list in September 2008.

Rick Riordan will release a new standalone novel called The Sun and the Star in collaboration with Mark Oshiro in May 2023.

Throughout his career, Riordan has received multiple awards, such as:

  • The Shamus Award for Best First PI Novel for Big Red Tequila
  • The Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original for Big Red Tequila
  • The Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original for The Widower's Two-Step
  • The Mark Twain Award for The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters

If you enjoy reading mythology, you should also check out Rick Riordan Presents. It’s a book imprint within Disney-Hyperion that launched in 2018.

Percy Jackson and the breakthrough series

The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is often viewed as Rick Riordan’s breakthrough series. However, many agree this series still doesn’t get enough recognition. It’s both interesting and educational, offering a deeper insight into Greek mythology and introducing the audience to exciting adventures.

The series consists of five books. Here’s a short overview of each:

  • The Lightning Thief - We’re introduced to 12-year-old Percy Jackson on a dangerous quest. He needs to travel across the U.S. to catch the thief who has stolen Zeus’ master bolt. The bolt represents a weapon of mass destruction and numerous enemies stand in Percy’s way.
  • The Sea of Monsters - Thalia’s tree is mysteriously poisoned, and Camp Half-Blood is in danger. Percy and his friends have to find a magic item to save the camp before monsters completely destroy it. The only problem is they need to venture into the Sea of Monsters.
  • The Titan’s Curse - After receiving an urgent call from his friend Grover, Percy gets ready for war. His demigod allies rush to the rescue and realize that Grove has made an important discovery. Meanwhile, an ancient monster that could destroy Olympus is awoken.
  • The Battle of the Labyrinth - With the war between the gods and the Titans just behind them, Percy and his friends set out on a quest through the Labyrinth. Along the way, Percy discovers shocking secrets and faces numerous enemies.
  • The Last Olympian - Kronos begins his advance towards Mount Olympus, and it’s up to Percy and his army to stop him. The long-awaited prophecy involving Percy’s 16th birthday is finally revealed, and he realizes he may be fighting his own destiny all this time.

Rick Riordan announced that the sixth book, called The Chalice of the Gods, will be published in September 2023.

If you enjoy the Percy Jackson series, you should also read The Demigod Files, Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes, Camp Half-Blood Confidential, and Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods. All four represent supplements to the series. Moreover, you can explore graphic novels and coloring books related to the series.

Fans will also love The Demigods of Olympus: An Interactive Adventure, an interactive e-book.

Magnus Chase and a departure to the north

The Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series is a trilogy based on Norse mythology. The main character is Magnus Chase, a homeless boy from Boston, and son of the Vanir god of fertility Frey, and a cousin of Annabeth Chase, a character from the Percy Jackson series.

After learning that he’s the son of a Norse god, Magnus must find a weapon that will save the world from doom. But to do that, he must first die.

This exciting trilogy has a clear message: friends should stick together no matter what. It’s about loyalty, bravery, persistence, and trust.

The series consists of these three books including:

  • The Sword of Summer (2015)
  • The Hammer of Thor (2016)
  • The Ship of the Dead (2017)

If you enjoy this series, you should also read 9 from the Nine Worlds. This is a collection of short stories from the world of Magnum Chase.

Immerse yourself in fantasy novels with Speechify

Many people love fantasy novels but don’t have the time to read them. With Speechify Audiobooks, this is no longer an issue. This platform gives you access to thousands of titles belonging to different genres.

It lets you customize your experience by choosing the playback speed, setting a sleep timer, and syncing your progress automatically. The platform is easy to use, even for those who aren’t tech-savvy. Try Speechify Audiobooks now and get your first premium audiobook for free.


Did Rick Riordan stop writing Percy Jackson?

No, he didn’t. The next book will be released in September 2023.

What is Rick Riordan's next book in 2023?

The Sun and the Star, which will be published in May 2023.

When did Rick Riordan start writing?

His first book was published in 1997.

Cliff Weitzman

Cliff Weitzman

Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.