150k 5 star reviews | 20M+ downloads

How many FNAF books are there?

Cliff Weitzman
By Cliff Weitzman Dyslexia & Accessibility Advocate, CEO/Founder of Speechify in Reading on April 19, 2023

    How many FNAF books are there?

    The Five Nights at Freddy’s video game has millions of players around the world. With so many fans, the horror video game franchise has also spawned multiple spinoffs, toys, and books. Now you can enjoy the stories taking place at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza through the novels. They give you a different way of following the creepy plot involving dark animatronic enemies and mysterious adventures. Silver Eyes, the first book, was even a New York Times bestselling novel.

    Here you’ll learn about the chronological order of Five Nights at Freddy’s books as well as more about the enthralling story itself.

    An overview of the Five Nights at Freddy’s

    The Five Nights at Freddy’s book series (Scholastic) is a collection of young adult horror novels based on the popular video game franchise. The first three books in the series were co-written by Scott Cawthon, the creator of the video games, and Kira Breed-Wrisley.

    The books expand on the lore and backstory of the Five Nights at Freddy’s universe, introducing new characters and exploring the sinister history of the infamous animatronic animals in video games. The popularity of the Five Nights at Freddy’s franchise can be attributed to its unique blend of horror, humor, and mystery.

    Complete list of FNAF books

    It’s important to mention that the first three books represent the main Five Nights at Freddy’s trilogy, while the Fazbear Fright series are smaller novellas. There are also additions such as Five Nights at Freddy’s graphic novel, The official Character Encyclopedia, Five Nights at Freddy’s Coloring Book, Survival Logbook, The Security Breach Files, and The Freddy Files. The trilogy is also available in a box set.

    Five Nights at Freddy’s trilogy

    The Silver Eyes 

    A group of teenagers reunites at the abandoned Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza outlet, where a mysterious tragedy occurred years earlier. They soon find themselves trapped in the restaurant, facing the same animatronic robots that terrorized those that came before them. The book introduces Charlie, the daughter of the original owner of the restaurant.

    The Twisted Ones 

    Following the events of the first book, Charlie and her friends must confront a new threat when a string of bizarre and deadly occurrences plague the area around her school. As they investigate, they discover a twisted and terrifying secret lurking beneath the surface.

    The Fourth Closet 

    In the final book of the trilogy, Charlie is seemingly gone for good, but John can’t seem to accept it. Meanwhile, a new animatronic restaurant opens. What follows is a new mystery with kidnappings for John to solve with his friends as well as settling Charlie’s fate.

    Fazbear Fright series

    Into the Pit

    A young boy named Oswald discovers a strange arcade game that leads him to a world of twisted versions of his favorite animatronics. The book is connected by three stories, all exploring the horrors of the pizzeria and animatronics.


    Greg loves his new robotic dog, Fetch, but soon realizes that something is wrong with the pet. As he tries to uncover the truth about Fetch’s origins, Greg must confront his darkest fears and fight for his life in Fazbear Frights #2.

    1:35 A.M.

    When Delilah discovers a suspicious animatronic, she tries to uncover the truth about what happened to her missing sister. In the process, she realizes that she may be in more danger than she ever imagined.

    Step Closer 

    This collection of four terrifying stories includes a tale of a boy who can’t stop growing, a young man who becomes obsessed with a carnival game, a girl who must survive a deadly game of hide-and-seek, and a boy who must confront his fear of clowns.

    Bunny Call 

    Bob must unravel the mystery behind a sinister voice on the phone that’s connected to the terrifying Bunny Call animatronic.


    Millie discovers a mysterious mansion that’s home to a family of animatronics while searching for her missing father.

    The Cliffs 

    A group of teens take on a dangerous dare to climb a treacherous cliff and discover a dark secret that threatens to destroy them.

     Gumdrop Angel 

    This book features three terrifying stories, including one about a candy-filled animatronic, a twisted carnival ride, and a cursed video game.

    The Puppet Carver 

    The novella follows the puppet Sylvester and his intense wish to be real. The puppet carver, however, only gives him a few senses. Another story explores a failing pizzeria business and the extreme lengths the owner will go to keep it afloat.

    Friendly Face 

    Friendly Face explores what happens when the DNA of deceased pets is used to create new sinister animatronics.


    Prankster follows Joel and his aspirations for a new life. Despite his well-meaning intentions, he struggles to turn things around.

    A summary of Five Nights at Freddy’s

    The first trilogy centers around Charlie, who returns to Hurricane Utah to investigate Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza horrors. In The Silver Eyes, she races against time to uncover the truth and discovers the animatronics’ lifelike behavior.

    The second and third books build upon the theme and reveal deeper secrets about the animatronic creator. In The Fourth Closet, they confront the mastermind behind the animatronics while attempting to foil his evil plan.

    The plot of the first trilogy weaves the origin story together and delves deep into the mystery of the kidnappings and murders wreaking havoc on Hurricane. The Fazbear Frights books feature different characters and settings, but all revolve around the themes of horror, suspense, and the supernatural. Each novella explores a newer cast of characters in Freddy’s series and offers a unique take on the universe based on the video game series.

    Where can you read the FNAF books?


    Some people choose Amazon to buy the books in Five Nights at Freddy’s in physical format.

    Listen to more horror audiobooks with Speechify

    Speechify audiobook is a great place to listen to audiobooks from your favorite genres, such as horror, thriller, and suspense. You can choose from an extensive library of titles by your favorite authors and customize your reading experience. Adjust the reading speed, bookmark, and take notes to make any narration right for you. Give Speechify a try to enhance your literary listening experience on the go and enjoy your first premium audiobook for free.


    What is the reading level of the Five Nights at Freddy’s books?

    The books are generally recommended for ages 12 and up and have a reading level of middle-grade to young adult.

    Are there other spinoffs of Five Nights at Freddy’s Books?

    There are also numerous spinoff books including and The Tales from the PizzaPlex, Happs, Somniphobia, and Lally’s Game.

    Cliff Weitzman
    Cliff Weitzman

    Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.