150k 5 star reviews | 20M+ downloads

How to read the Percy Jackson books in order

Cliff Weitzman
By Cliff Weitzman Dyslexia & Accessibility Advocate, CEO/Founder of Speechify in Books in Order on April 18, 2023

    Mythological creatures, monsters, Greek gods, exciting battles, and a world that’s teetering on the edge of destruction is exactly what a good fantasy book series needs. All of this and more can be found in the thrilling and captivating Percy Jackson book series.

    Who is Percy Jackson?

    At first glance, Percy Jackson is nothing more than a run-of-the-mill kid from New York but looks can be deceiving. When he’s 12 years old, Percy discovers that he is the son of Poseidon, which means he is a demigod, and that his world is about to change more than he could have imagined.

    Author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

    Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series was written by Rick Riordan. He has found great success thanks to his fantasy novels and the first two Percy Jackson books were adapted into films.

    Additionally, the Olympians series was turned into a graphic novel illustrated by John Rocco, and a TV series based on the books is currently being produced by Disney Branded Television.

    An introduction to Rick Riordan’s writings

    This American author first got famous thanks to the best-selling Percy Jackson series and then went on to write other fantasy book series.

    Overview of the Percy Jackson series

    Strange things are always happening around Percy Jackson, although through no fault of his own, and he keeps getting into trouble for it.

    But when he is found by the satyr Grover Underwood, the truth is finally revealed, and Percy gets sent to Camp Half-Blood to train alongside other demigods. Here he will finally gain control over his extraordinary powers.

    On his way to greatness, Percy Jackson finds himself doing things he never believed possible: battling against gods, fulfilling prophecies, and embarking on quests.

    Throughout the series, you’ll read about many fascinating characters based on the legends of Greek Mythology, not just Percy. You will meet Annabeth Chase, the daughter of Athena and Percy’s best friend, Thalia Grace, the daughter of Zeus, and Percy’s half-brother Tyson.

    The son of Neptune and his friends truly become Greek heroes and legends among all the gods on Mount Olympus including Kronos, Artemis, and Hades.

    Percy Jackson Original series

    The original Percy Jackson series is called Percy Jackson & the Olympians, and it has five books in total. These books follow Percy’s adventures as he learns to control his newly discovered demigod powers and has fascinating adventures.

    The Heroes of Olympus series

    After the original Percy Jackson series found great popularity, Rick Riordan decided to write a spin off-series called Heroes of Olympus. In these books, we learn about the adventures of newly introduced demigods who have just arrived at Camp Half-Blood.

    The Kane Chronicles series

    This series is set in the same universe as the previous two, and it follows two siblings descended from legendary pharaohs Ramses the Great and Narmer. These two siblings, Sadie Kane and Carter, are two powerful magicians who will lead you through a trilogy of fascinating Egyptian mythological fiction books.

    Magnus Chase book series

    The final trilogy by author Rick Riordan, Magnus Chase, and the Gods of Asgard was based on Norse mythology and is once again set in the same universe. Our protagonist in this series is Magnus Chase, and he is the son of Frey, the god of fertility.

    Percy Jackson books in publication order

    If you want to delve deep into the adventures of this demigod, you need to read the books in order, starting from the first book.

    Percy Jackson & the Olympians Original series

    • Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief (2006)
    • The Sea of Monsters (2007)
    • The Titan’s Curse (2008)
    • The Battle of the Labyrinth (2009)
    • The Last Olympian (2011)
    • The Chalice of the Gods (2023)

    Heroes of Olympus books in publication order

    • The Lost Hero (2011)
    • The Sun of Neptune (2011)
    • The Mark of Athena (2012)
    • The House of Haites (2013)
    • The Blood of Olympus (2014)

    The Trials of Apollo books in publication order

    • The Hidden Oracle (2016)
    • The Dark Prophecy (2017)
    • The Burning Maze (2018)
    • The Tyrants Tomb (2019)
    • The Tower of Nero (2020)

    Kane Chronicles books in order

    • The Red Pyramid (2010)
    • The Throne of Fire (2011)
    • The Serpents Shadow (2012)

    Magnus Chase books in order

    • The Sword of Summer (2015)
    • The Hammer of Thor (2016)
    • The Ship of the Dead (2017)

    Read Rick Riordan’s books on Speechify

    If you’re a fan of the Percy Jackson series, you’re in luck. There’s a wide range of other Rick Riordan books available for you to explore on Speechify Audiobooks. Riordan’s books are known for their action-packed adventures, witty humor, and diverse characters, making them a hit with readers of all ages. You can also immerse yourself in the world of mythology with Speechify’s extensive library of audiobooks on a wide range of topics. Find your next great adventure by signing up for Speechify Audiobooks today and enjoy your first premium audiobook for free.


    How many official Percy Jackson books are there?

    If we’re just looking at the original series, there are currently five books in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. There is also a book called The Demigod Files, which consists of three short stories and is set between the fourth and fifth books.

    However, if you count all of the books in the extended universe, there is a total of twenty-one books that all take place in the same universe but have different protagonists.

    What age is appropriate for Percy Jackson books?

    While Percy Jackson is considered to be a young adult book series, it’s recommended for ages 10 and up.

    Is there going to be another Percy Jackson book?

    Luckily for fans of the Percy Jackson Books, a sixth book in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series was announced. According to Rick Riordan, The Chalice of the Gods’ will be published in September 2023.

    Cliff Weitzman
    Cliff Weitzman

    Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.