150k 5 star reviews | 20M+ downloads

How many Wheel of Time books are there?

Cliff Weitzman
By Cliff Weitzman Dyslexia & Accessibility Advocate, CEO/Founder of Speechify in Reading on April 19, 2023

    How many Wheel of Time books are there?

    The Wheel of Time series is an epic high-fantasy saga that has captured the hearts and minds of millions of fans. With a rich, expansive world and unforgettable characters, it’s no wonder this series has become a genre staple.

    Here we’ll explore the world of The Wheel of Time and provide a comprehensive overview of the books.

    An introduction To The Wheel of Time series

    The Wheel of Time is a New York Times best-selling series by Robert Jordan, an American author known for his intricate world-building and complex plotlines. The epic fantasy series was supposed to be a six-book saga. However, it expanded to 14 books, with a prequel novel, New Spring, published in 2004. Brandon Sanderson, a renowned fantasy author, completed the final three books after Jordan died in 2007.

    In The Wheel of Time series, One Power is the driving force behind the magic, with Saidin being the male half behind the Great Blight. Those with the ability to channel this mysterious energy can wield it. The series starts in the Two Rivers region, a peaceful and secluded area.

    The story revolves around Rand al’Thor, a young man from the rural village of Emond’s Field. Destined to become the Dragon Reborn, a prophesied savior, he must battle the Dark One, an evil entity threatening to unravel reality. Alongside Rand, the series follows the lives of his friends Mat Cauthon and Perrin Aybara and other key characters like Moiraine Damodred, an Aes Sedai sorceress, and Egwene al’Vere.

    Throughout the series, we meet a diverse cast of characters, including Nynaeve al’Meara, a skilled healer and powerful channeler from the Two Rivers region. The TV series adaptation captures the essence of the story, bringing to life iconic locations like the mystical city of Tar Valon, home to the Aes Sedai, an order of powerful female magic users.

    The Wheel of Time series has been adapted into an Amazon Prime Video TV series directed by Rafe Judkins, and starring Rosamund Pike, Barney Harris, Zoë Robins, and Joshua Stradowski. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Lord of the Rings will likely enjoy the Wheel of Time TV show. It shares many elements of high-fantasy, intricate world-building, and character-driven storytelling.

    An overview Of The Wheel of Time books

    Here’s a list of The Wheel of Time books in order of their release date:

    1. The Eye of the World (1990)
    2. The Great Hunt (1990)
    3. The Dragon Reborn (1991)
    4. The Shadow Rising (1992)
    5. The Fires of Heaven (1993)
    6. Lord of Chaos (1994)
    7. A Crown of Swords (1996)
    8. The Path of Daggers (1998)
    9. Winter’s Heart (2000)
    10. Crossroads of Twilight (2003)
    11. Knife of Dreams (2005)
    12. The Gathering Storm (2009) – completed by Brandon Sanderson
    13. Towers of Midnight (2010) – completed by Brandon Sanderson
    14. A Memory of Light (2013) – completed by Brandon Sanderson
    15. New Spring (2004) – prequel novel

    The Wheel of Time series, whether the books or the TV series adaptation, offers a captivating and immersive experience for fans of epic fantasy. Following the characters through their trials and tribulations, victories and losses, you’ll immerse yourself in a world rich with magic, intrigue, and adventure.

    How many books are in The Wheel of Time series?

    As mentioned, The Wheel of Time series comprises of 14 main and one prequel novel, totaling 15 books in all. The series spans a complex, interconnected narrative that explores themes of destiny, power, and the cyclical nature of time.

    The first and last books: What happened in between?

    The Eye of the World, the first book in the series, introduces us to Rand, Mat, and Perrin, who are thrust into a journey filled with danger, magic, and prophecy. They receive guidance from the Aes Sedai Moiraine and her loyal protector, Lan Mandragoran. Throughout, the characters face numerous trials, from political intrigue in the White Tower to battles against monstrous Trollocs and the Seanchan, a foreign empire seeking to conquer the world.

    Rand, Mat, and Perrin grow in power and understanding as the story unfolds, forging alliances and discovering secrets about their pasts. The series culminates in the Last Battle, a climactic showdown between the forces of good and evil in A Memory of Light.

    Where to read The Wheel of Time series

    The Wheel of Time books are available in various formats, from physical copies to e-books and audiobooks, making it easy for fans to dive into this captivating world.

    Here are a few different ways to read the series.

    Local Bookstores and Libraries

    You can find The Wheel of Time book series at local bookstores or libraries, where they’ll likely stock the entire series. This is a great way to support local businesses and get a physical copy of the books.

    Online Retailers

    The series is also available through online retailers like Amazon and Tor, the publisher of The Wheel of Time books. You can purchase both e-book and physical copies through these platforms.

    Listen to the Wheel of Time series with Speechify

    The Wheel of Time series is available in audiobook format for those who prefer to listen to their favorite stories and not have to worry about spoilers anymore. Speechify, a popular audiobook service, offers an extensive library of titles, including the complete Wheel of Time series. With high-quality narration and immersive storytelling, you can experience the world of Rand al’Thor and his companions in a new way. Sign up for Speechify Audiobooks today and enjoy your first premium audiobook free.


    Is the Wheel of Time series complete?

    Yes, Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series is complete. It comprises 14 main books, including a prequel, New Spring, and The Wheel of Time Companion, compiled by the original author’s widow Harriet McDougal. Author Brandon Sanderson completed the final three books following the passing of Robert Jordan.

    When was the first book of The Wheel of Time published?

    The first book of The Wheel of Time fantasy novels, The Eye of the World, was published on January 15, 1990.

    Cliff Weitzman
    Cliff Weitzman

    Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.