9781250245977

Chokehold

Regular Price: 26.99 USD

9781250245977

Chokehold

Regular Price: 26.99 USD
Get this book for $1

Other top audibooks

Summary

The third book in the new series from Hater author David Moody is perfect for fans of John Maberry and Max Brooks.

A series of nuclear strikes has left huge swathes of the country uninhabitable. It’s a level playing field now: both Hater and Unchanged alike have to fight to stay alive. Both have retreated to their camps to regroup, less than twenty miles away from each other.

It’s here that the last major battle of the final war will inevitably be fought, but neither side has any idea what’s waiting for them just around the corner.

Both armies are ready to fight to the death, each of their leaders hell-bent on victory. Their tactics are uniformly simple: strike first, get the enemy in a chokehold, then strangle the life out of them.

Chokehold is a fast-paced and wonderfully dark story about the fight for survival in the face of the impending apocalypse.

,From the UK, DAVID MOODY first self-published Hater on the internet in 2006, and without an agent, succeeded in selling the film rights for the novel to Mark Johnson (producer, The Chronicles of Narnia film series) and Guillermo Del Toro (director, Hellboy, Pan’s Labyrinth). With the publication of a new series of Hater stories, Moody is poised to further his reputation as a writer of suspense-laced SF/horror, and “farther out” genre books of all description.,

”David Moody is one kick-ass writer….An enjoyable, hellacious ride into a blood-splattered finale that doesn’t disappoint.” —Scream Magazine

”An engaging story…Unique and compelling.” —Booklist

”Fans of exceedingly bleak survival horror will be satisfied.” —Publishers Weekly

”Chokehold is just as the name suggests: a story that viciously grabs ahold of you and will not let go, no matter how much you struggle. It is cutthroat, relentless, and—trust me when I say this—shockingly inspiring.” —Geeks of Doom

“Moody has once again hefted his barbed wire baseball bat and knocked it out of the post-apocalyptic park, comfortably maintaining his reign as the Babe Ruth of British horror.” —This Is Horror

Praise for All Roads End Here:
”Moody’s suspenseful second Final War horror novel, continuing the second series set in the bleak and anger-filled Hater world, is a gripping take on the zombie apocalypse…. Fans of zombie thrillers will not be disappointed.” —Publishers Weekly

”Great characters, great story, nobody does the apocalypse like David Moody.” —Craig DiLouie, author of One of Us

”Moody has once again delivered a great post-apocalyptic story, maintaining his position at the summit of British horror…” —This is Horror blog


Praise for One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning:


”A bloody fun ride… Another wetwork nightmare that should delight fans of Haters and intrigue writers who wallow in the genre.” —Kirkus Reviews

”Moody really knows how to write creeping, claustrophobic terror, effectively sneaking up on his readers and, finally, scaring the life out of them. Top-drawer horror.” —Booklist, starred review

”This gloomy psychological horror thriller contains a surprising twist of dystopia, a promising note for the series that it launches.” —Library Journal

Think of a mashup of George Romero and Agatha Christie, and you might have an idea of what awaits you.” —The Book Report Network

”Fear stems from isolation and rumor, only to be reinforced by quick and brutal violence. This is gut-wrenchingly realistic survival horror.” —Horror Underground blog

”David Moody has a knack for making me feel like a fly on the wall, right there amongst the action but not noticed by the players.” —2 Book Lovers Reviews blog, five stars

”The novel rips you out of your safe and sung world and thrusts you into an environment where anyone can turn on you in the blink of an eye. It’s hard-hitting, head-poundingly tense, and drenched from head to toe in blood-splattered cruelty.” —DLS Reviews blog

”Moody truly excels at wicked pacing and sharp dialogue, and One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is no exception.” —Ghastly Grinning blog

One of Us Will Be Dead by Morning is an insightful, rewarding look at physical and social isolation, trust and reaction to adversity when the flight part of “fight or flight” is taken away. It’s clever, convincing fiction, claustrophobic fiction.” —SFBook Reviews

”A gripping, visceral read, glistening with gore and studded with extreme brutality and with a relentlessly downbeat tone which will please lovers of hard-edged apocalyptic fiction. We await the arrival of book two in the series with considerable interest.” —Starburst

Subjects in Chokehold

Chokehold includes the following subjects: Horror. The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Dystopian.

About the Author(s) of Chokehold

The author of Chokehold is David Moody. David Moody grew up in Birmingham on a diet of horror and pulp science fiction books and movies. He worked for financial institutions before giving up his day job to write about the end of the world for a living. He has written a number of horror novels, including Autumn, which has been downloaded more than half a million times since its publication in 2001. He lives in the United Kingdom with his wife and a houseful of daughters and stepdaughters, which may explain his preoccupation with Armageddon.

About the Narrator of Chokehold Audiobook

The narrator for the Chokehold Audiobook is Gerard Doyle.

Chokehold Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Audio. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1250245974. The ISBN-13 is 9781250245977.

Global Availability of Chokehold Audiobook

BS, KM, VA, MA, SZ, SL, MU, IR, LY, SH, HM, TM, MQ, SG, RW, NR, VN, MF, MW, CD, NP, UA, DK, PF, SM, TH, BQ, MK, SR, BR, IS, FR, GI, GW, PR, PL, BT, NA, TC, BH, SC, KH, MT, US, KW, AS, CW, GQ, JO, GD, IT, SD, ZM, SE, WS, LI, PT, AW, EG, EH, DZ, GM, MH, YE, RO, SK, DE, YT, AE, TR, AL, GE, CY, JE, LB, LS, CK, AZ, VC, GR, TJ, IM, LV, LR, NZ, DM, VE, GB, KG, AT, BY, BM, GA, BA, AQ, MZ, MC, PW, CX, KN, LA, SI, IO, SJ, AD, CV, UY, JM, HR, AF, KZ, AM, TL, MS, NE, BG, FO, GS, NI, TW, GH, FI, CF, GU, CM, SY, BZ, NU, GT, CH, ME, ZA, AX, BD, CI, ID, PE, CL, BL, JP, SN, IN, GG, SB, BN, CN, TG, LT, HN, HU, LC, UM, KR, MN, QA, IL, SA, AO, MD, KP, NO, IQ, PA, IE, NL, CA, FM, NF, ZW, CR, DO, ET, RU, SS, WF, KI, TO, PY, OM, VG, GY, BI, NG, MR, HT, PH, TK, ES, TT, TD, BB, BW, SV, MO, CC, ER, FK, UZ, AR, BE, CZ, TV, MY, PN, TN, LU, PM, CO, BO, EE, RS, KY, DJ, TZ, LK, NC, PK, SX, MG, MV, ST, AG, EC, UG, GN, GP, BF, MM, MP, PS, CG, BJ, VU, CU, RE, BV, SO, KE, ML, VI, PG, TF, AI, FJ, HK, GF, MX, AU, GL

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Dark Harvest ”This is contemporary American writing at its finest.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review Winner of the Stoker Award and named one of the 100 Best Novels of 2006 by Publishers Weekly, Dark Harvest is a powerhouse thrill-ride with all the resonance of Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery.” ... Read Book
  • The Queen of Paris Legendary fashion designer Coco Chanel is revered for her sophisticated style—the iconic little black dress—and famed for her intoxicating perfume Chanel No. 5. Yet behind the public persona is a complicated woman of intrigue, shadowed by mysterious rumors. The Queen of Paris, the new novel ... Read Book
  • Ladies Man Tahoe Roth. Irreverent, cocky, playful, and naughty. He’s not the guy you date. He’s the one night stand. The one your mother warned you about. The one your body craves. You’d think the man who called me succulent would want to strip me down and spread me out on his bed—like ... Read Book
  • The Dawn of Christmas This Christmas, experience learning to trust alongside the Plain folk of Apple Ridge, Pennsylvania in this heart-warming tale of second chances. Sadie enjoys her freedom away from home and her mission trips to Peru, but after four years, her Old Order Amish family insists it’ s time to come home ... Read Book
  • Behind the Lens Eight years ago, seasoned photojournalist Annie Hawkins Green barely survived a Taliban ambush that left her military escort dead and a young Afghan girl dying in her arms. Since then, she has managed to suppress her memories of that brutal day—until she returns to Afghanistan to teach a ... Read Book
  • The Incredible Worlds of Wally McDoogle Books 1-4 Children will laugh at these funny adventure stories from Bill Myers, bestselling author of McGee and Me, all while learning Christian character and godly wisdom. Join Wally on four hilarious, mishap-filled adventures as he faces a bully at camp, gets eaten by an alien in a film, competes in a ... Read Book
  • Don’t You Forget about Me Jancee Dunn won fans and hearts with her sparkling memoir But Enough about Me, detailing her transition from small-town square to hip journalist in the rocking 1980s. Now she channels her wit and humor into a story of the clash of cultures in the distinctive era in which she grew up.Lillian Curtis, ... Read Book
  • Beyond the Gathering Storm Best-selling author Janette Oke, noted for vivid historical settings and heartwarming spiritual drama spins the tale of a close-knit family facing separation and change. Years ago, Wynn and Elizabeth Delaney adopted Christine and Henry. Now Christine has moved to a nearby city. Working as a ... Read Book

Related audiobooks

  • The Return of the King J. R. R. Tolkien THE THIRD PART OF J.R.R. TOLKIEN’S EPIC MASTERPIECE, THE LORD OF THE RINGS The Dark Lord Sauron has risen, and as he unleashes hordes of Orcs to conquer all Middle-earth, Frodo and Sam struggle deep into his realm in Mordor. To defeat Sauron, the One Ring must be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. But the way is impossibly hard, and Frodo is weakening. The Ring corrupts all who bear it and ... Read more about The Return of the King
  • The Way of Kings Brandon Sanderson From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass ... Read more about The Way of Kings
  • Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ... Read more about Sapiens
  • The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection C S Lewis For over sixty years, readers of all ages have been enchanted by the magical realms, the epic battles between good and evil, and the unforgettable creatures of Narnia.This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The ... Read more about The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection
  • Dune Frank Herbert NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE directed by Denis Villeneuve, starring Timothée Chalamet, Josh Brolin, Jason Momoa, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Javier Bardem, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgård, and Charlotte Rampling. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot ... Read more about Dune

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :