After James

Regular Price: 22.95 USD

After James

Regular Price: 22.95 USD
Get this book for $1

Other top audibooks

Summary

For fans of Joshua Cohen and Ben Lerner, After James captures the dystopian strangeness of our current world.

A neuroscientist walks out of her life and isolates herself in the woods, intending to blow the whistle on a pharmaceutical company and its creativity drug gone wrong. A recently orphaned graduate school dropout is hired as a “literary detective” to decode the work of a mysterious Internet poet who writes about disappearances and murders with an inexplicably precise knowledge of private details. And a virologist discovers her identity has been stolen by a conceptual artist in whose stories someone always goes missing. Ali, James, and Celia exist in worlds where implausibilities that once belonged to science fiction, ancient superstition, or dystopian visions are real or impending.

Set in great cities, remote regions, and deadly borderlands, Michael Helm’s groundbreaking novel, After James, is told in three parts, each gesturing toward a different fiction genre: the gothic horror, the detective novel, and the apocalyptic. Science and art become characters, and secrets form, hidden in the codes of genetic sequences, poems, and the patterns of political violence. Part to part, elements repeat―otherworldly weather, disturbing artwork, buried corpses―and amid these echoes, a larger mystery arises, one that joins artifice to nature and fiction to reality, delivering us into the troubling wonder of the present world.

Subjects in After James

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of After James Audiobook, After James includes the following subjects: thriller, suspense, sci fi, science fiction, mystery, unreliable narrators, neuroscientist, virologist, gothic, thematic, identity theft. The BISAC Subject Code is .

About the Author(s) of After James

The author of After James is Michael Helm. Michael Helm was born in Saskatchewan. His novel Cities of Refuge was a national bestseller in Canada and was a Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Award finalist, a Giller Prize nominee, and a Globe and Mail and Now magazine Best Book of the Year. Helm is an editor for Brick and teaches at York University in Toronto.

About the Narrator of After James Audiobook

The narrator for the After James Audiobook is Cassandra Campbell.

<p><b>Cassandra Campbell </b>has won multiple Audie Awards, Earphones Awards, and the prestigious Odyssey Award for narration. She was been named a “Best Voice” by <i>AudioFile</i> magazine and in 2018 was inducted in Audible’s inaugural Narrator Hall of Fame. </p>.

After James Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Blackstone Publishing. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1504760654. The ISBN-13 is 9781504760652.

Global Availability of After James Audiobook

BB, BS, BQ, BL, AG, JM, SV, CR, DO, GP, PR, MS, CU, TC, VC, HN, NI, LC, MQ, US, DM, PM, VI, AI, KY, VG, CW, BZ, GD, PA, GT, MF, CA, BM, MX, KN, GL, HT, AW, SX, TT

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Graduation Day She wants to put an end to the Testing In a scarred and brutal future, The United Commonwealth teeters on the brink of all-out civil war. The rebel resistance plots against a government that rules with cruelty and cunning. Gifted student and Testing survivor, Cia Vale, vows to fight. But she ... Read Book
  • The Eternal Audience of One “Meet the future of African literature” (Mukoma Wa Ngugi, author of Nairobi Heat) with this “gorgeous, wildly funny, and, above all, profoundly moving and humane” (Peter Orner, author of Am I Alone Here) coming-of-age tale following a young man who is forced to flee his ... Read Book
  • No Place to Run Maya Banks has captivated audiences with her intense, New York Times best-selling romances. In No Place to Run, super-elite private security firm Kelly Group International is thrust into a dangerous situation when former client Sophie Lundgren resurfaces after months on the run. Sam Kelly may be ... Read Book
  • The Cross and the Switchblade Gangfighters, drug addicts, teenage runaways, and prostitutes—the toughest and most hopeless kids that New York’s ghettos had to offer. That is, until a country preacher from the Pennsylvania hills arrived on their turf and began preaching a streetcorner message of renewal, miracles, and ... Read Book
  • The President’s Daughter From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a novel of romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.Dina McDermott is on top of the world. Attractive and independent at thirty, she runs her own business, funded by a generous inheritance. But an ... Read Book
  • The Sweetest Days A riveting and poignant portrait of marriage—lauded by New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand as “gorgeous and heartbreaking”—that explores the long union of a middle-aged couple grappling with secrets, illness, and loyalty.Pete and Jackie Hatch have been ... Read Book
  • Merchants in the Temple From a bestselling author with unprecedented access to Pope Francis, an investigative look at the recent financial scandals at the highest levels of the VaticanA veritable war is waging in the Church: on one side, there is Pope Francis’s strong message for one church of the poor and all; on the ... Read Book
  • The Jewels of Paradise Donna Leon has won heaps of critical praise and legions of fans for her bestselling mystery series featuring Commissario Guido Brunetti, one of contemporary crime fiction’s most beloved characters. With The Jewels of Paradise, Leon takes readers beyond the world of the Venetian Questura in her ... Read Book

Related audiobooks

  • The Return of the King J. R. R. Tolkien THE THIRD PART OF J.R.R. TOLKIEN’S EPIC MASTERPIECE, THE LORD OF THE RINGS The Dark Lord Sauron has risen, and as he unleashes hordes of Orcs to conquer all Middle-earth, Frodo and Sam struggle deep into his realm in Mordor. To defeat Sauron, the One Ring must be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. But the way is impossibly hard, and Frodo is weakening. The Ring corrupts all who bear it and ... Read more about The Return of the King
  • The Way of Kings Brandon Sanderson From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass ... Read more about The Way of Kings
  • Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ... Read more about Sapiens
  • The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection C S Lewis For over sixty years, readers of all ages have been enchanted by the magical realms, the epic battles between good and evil, and the unforgettable creatures of Narnia.This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The ... Read more about The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection
  • Dune Frank Herbert NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE directed by Denis Villeneuve, starring Timothée Chalamet, Josh Brolin, Jason Momoa, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Javier Bardem, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgård, and Charlotte Rampling. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot ... Read more about Dune

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :