150k 5 star reviews | 20M+ downloads

Why should you read the Jack Reacher series?

Cliff Weitzman
By Cliff Weitzman Dyslexia & Accessibility Advocate, CEO/Founder of Speechify in Reading on February 21, 2023

    Why should you read the Jack Reacher series?

    The Jack Reacher series by Lee Child is one of the most popular book series ever written. For decades, millions of readers have delighted in the adventures of Jack Reacher, an ex-military policeman and hitchhiker who never stays in one place for too long. From the gripping first book, Killing Floor, to the nail-biting finale in Blue Moon, each novel brings a thrilling new story to life.

    But why should you read these fantastic novels? Here we’ll explain why Lee Child’s Jack Reacher novels should be on everyone’s reading list.

    The books in the Jack Reacher series

    The Jack Reacher series follows former military policeman and eponymous hero Jack Reacher as he solves mysteries in his own unique way. Since the debut novel Killing Floor was published in 1997, the series has grown to include 27 books and counting.

    Here’s a list of all the books in the series:

    • The Killing Floor (1997)
    • Die Trying (1998)
    • Tripwire (1999)
    • Running Blind/The Visitor (2000)
    • Echo Burning (2001)
    • Without Fail (2002)
    • Persuader (2003)
    • The Enemy (2004)
    • One Shot (2005)
    • The Hard Way (2006)
    • Bad Luck and Trouble (2007)
    • Nothing to Lose (2008)
    • Gone Tomorrow (2009)
    • 61 Hours (2010) 
    • Worth Dying For (2010)
    • The Affair (2011)
    • A Wanted Man (2012)
    • Never Go Back (2013)
    • Personal (2014) 
    • Make Me (2015)
    • Night School (2016)
    • The Midnight Line (2017)
    • Past Tense (2018)
    • Blue Moon (2019)
    • The Sentinel (2020)
    • Better Off Dead (2021)
    • No Plan B (2022)

    In addition, Lee Child has published an anthology book titled No Middle Name which features two novellas and 10 short stories.

    If you’re interested in the books’ chronological order, you might want to start with The Enemy, followed by Night School, and then The Affair. After that, you can move on to the rest of the books in publication order.

    All of the books in the series are available on Amazon and other online retail stores.

    Why read the Jack Reacher books?

    High-quality writing

    Lee Child has developed a reputation for crafting high-quality prose that keeps readers enthralled from the very first page. His fast-paced writing style pulls readers into the action quickly while creating vivid images in their minds throughout each novel.

    His use of dialogue is exceptionally sharp, making conversations between characters come alive on the page as if you were actually there witnessing them yourself.

    Jack Reacher is a complex and relatable character

    Jack Reacher is the main character of the series. A former U.S. Army Military Police Corps officer, he has no fixed address, no job, no money, and only the clothes on his back. Regardless, he’s incredibly resourceful, often using his military training to stay one step ahead of danger and outwit his enemies.

    His loner status makes him relatable to readers who feel like they don’t fit in with society.

    Exciting and engaging story lines

    Each book in the series follows Jack as he solves a new mystery or confronts a new enemy. The thrilling stories often involve international crime rings, powerhouses of evil intent, mysterious women, secret service agents, and more.

    One particular fan favorite involves Jack going up against a vicious suicide bomber in South Dakota. Another enthralling story line sees Jack tracking down bad guys from Georgia all the way to New York City while helping out an old comrade along the way.

    Exceptional supporting characters

    The series also features great supporting characters that add depth to each story.

    Among them is Frances Neagley who first appeared in Without Fail and has since become an integral part of the Jack Reacher universe. She’s an old colleague of Jack’s, having served with him in the U.S. Army Military Police Corps. However, she also appears in her own prequel novels, Night School and The Affair.

    Somewhat unsurprisingly, the Vice President of the United States makes an appearance as a major player in one novel.

    Diverse settings across America

    While some stories might remain contained within one city or region, others span multiple states or countries. From small sleepy towns to bustling metropolises like Los Angeles and New York City, every setting is carefully chosen to fit with its respective plot line, creating an evocative backdrop for all sorts of exciting scenes.

    In Bad Luck and Trouble, for example, Jack travels from California to Nebraska before eventually ending up in a small town in Montana.

    Fascinating adaptations on screen

    Tom Cruise starred in two highly successful movie adaptations of books from the Jack Reacher series—Jack Reacher (2012) and Jack Reacher Never Go Back (2016). Though some changes were made to the source material, both movies stayed close to their respective book’s story arcs. There is also the Amazon Prime TV series Reacher, which premiered in 2022 and covers many stories from the book series.

    Listen to Lee Child’s books on Speechify Audiobooks

    Speechify Audiobooks is the perfect platform for any reader who loves to relax and listen to their favorite books. The service offers an extensive selection of best-selling novels, new arrivals, and even the best books of 2022.

    With Speechify Audiobooks, you can access the highest quality audiobooks featuring a variety of talented narrators, so you can experience each story like never before. Plus, Speechify allows you to adjust playback speed which can help create a more immersive listening experience.

    If you’re a fan of Lee Child, we highly recommend checking out some of his other works.

    Sit back, relax, and get ready for an unforgettable listening journey.


    Are the new Jack Reacher books any good?

    The new Jack Reacher books have been widely praised by readers, with many noting the gripping plotlines and exciting character development.

    Do the Jack Reacher books follow on from one another?

    If you’re interested in the books’ chronological order, you might want to start with The Enemy, followed by Night School, and then The Affair. After that, you can move on to the rest of the books in publication order.

    What is the Jack Reacher series about?

    The Jack Reacher series is about a former U.S. Army Military Police Corps Officer who travels the United States and solves complex cases with his deduction and martial arts skills.

    How many Jack Reacher books are there?

    As of 2022, there are 27 Jack Reacher novels by Lee Child.

    Who stars in the Jack Reacher films?

    Tom Cruise stars in the Jack Reacher films.

    Cliff Weitzman
    Cliff Weitzman

    Cliff Weitzman is a dyslexia advocate and the CEO and founder of Speechify, the #1 text-to-speech app in the world, totaling over 100,000 5-star reviews and ranking first place in the App Store for the News & Magazines category. In 2017, Weitzman was named to the Forbes 30 under 30 list for his work making the internet more accessible to people with learning disabilities. Cliff Weitzman has been featured in EdSurge, Inc., PC Mag, Entrepreneur, Mashable, among other leading outlets.