Try for free
9781481505215
Try for $0.00

The Lost Treasures of R&B Audiobook

Regular Price: 16.95 USD

Play Sample
9781481505215
Play Sample

The Lost Treasures of R&B Audiobook

Regular Price: 16.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

The Lost Treasures of R&B Audiobook Summary

Professional bodyguard D Hunter takes a gig protecting rapper Asya Roc at an underground fight club in poverty-stricken Brownsville, Brooklyn. Unknown to D, the rapper has arranged to purchase illegal guns at the event. An acquaintance of D’s from the streets, Ice, turns out to be the courier.

During the exchange a robbery is attempted, and Ice is wounded. D gets Asya Roc to safety but, now in possession of the illicit merchandise, finds himself being chased by two gunmen. When D and his pursuers run into a corrupt detective, a bloody shootout ensues.

D, who has just moved back to Brooklyn after decades in Manhattan, finds himself involved in multiple mysteries. Who were the gunmen? Why were they after the guns? Who was being set up—Asya Roc or Ice? Meanwhile, he gets a much-needed paying assignment to track down the rarest soul music single ever recorded.

With gentrifying Brooklyn as the backdrop, D works to unravel various mysteries—both criminal and musical—while coming to terms with the failure of his security company and the ghosts of his childhood in “old Brooklyn.” Like its predecessors The Accidental Hunter and The Plot against Hip Hop, The Lost Treasures of R&B uses pop music as the backdrop for a noir-flavored big-city tale.

The Lost Treasures of R&B Audiobook Narrator

Nicole Small is the narrator of The Lost Treasures of R&B audiobook that was written by Nelson George

Shayna Small is an actress/singer born and raised in Chicago. In the middle of her freshman year of high school she relocated to Baltimore to attend a performing arts school. She holds a BFA in drama at the Juilliard School. Her theater credits include Hurt Village and The Threepenny Opera.

About the Author(s) of The Lost Treasures of R&B

Nelson George is the author of The Lost Treasures of R&B

Nelson George is an author and filmmaker who specializes in documenting and celebrating African American culture. He has written several classic black music histories, including Where Did Our Love Go?, The Death of Rhythm & Blues, and Hip Hop America. George also coedited The James Brown Reader and has contributed major articles on the films Pariah, The Help, and 12 Years a Slave to the New York Times. He directed the HBO film Life Support and the VH1 documentary Finding the Funk.

The Lost Treasures of R&B Full Details

NarratorNicole Small
Length5 hours and 23 minutes
AuthorNelson George
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateFebruary 03, 2015
ISBN9781481505215

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of The Lost Treasures of R&B Audiobook, The Lost Treasures of R&B includes the following subjects: noir, crime fiction, body guard, bodyguard, d hunter, street lit, urban lit, urban fiction, rapper, gun runner, brooklyn, new york, soul music, pop music, music, rap music, rhythm and blues, rhythm & blues The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Urban Audiobooks. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 1481505211. The ISBN-13 is 9781481505215.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart
  • Better Than We Found It Frederick Joseph From the New York Times best-selling author of The Black Friend and a seasoned activist comes an indispensable guide to social and political progressivism for young people and anyone wanting to get more involved. Every generation inherits the problems created by the ones before them, but no generation will inherit as many problems—as many crises—as the current generation of young people. From ... Read more about Better Than We Found It

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :