Try for free
Home Audiobooks Rival to the Queen

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

Rival to the Queen Audiobook

Publisher List Price: 26.99 USD

Speechify Price: Coming soon

Written by Carolly Erickson

Narrated by Susan Lyons

Published on September 28, 2010

Audio is 1528 hours and 20 minutes

About Rival to the Queen:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Wife of Henry VIII comes a novel about the bitter rivalry between Queen Elizabeth I and her fascinating cousin, Lettice Knollys, for the love of one extraordinary man.

Powerful, dramatic and full of the rich history that has made Carolly Erickson’s novels perennial bestsellers, this is the story of the only woman to ever stand up to the Virgin Queen— her own cousin, Lettie Knollys. Far more attractive than the queen, Lettie soon won the attention of the handsome and ambitious Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, a man so enamored of the queen and determined to share her throne that it was rumored he had murdered his own wife in order to become her royal consort. The enigmatic Elizabeth allowed Dudley into her heart, and relied on his devoted service, but shied away from the personal and political risks of marriage.

When Elizabeth discovered that he had married her cousin Lettie in secret, Lettie would pay a terrible price, fighting to keep her husband’s love and ultimately losing her beloved son, the Earl of Essex, to the queen’s headsman.

This is the unforgettable story of two women related by blood, yet destined to clash over one of Tudor England’s most charismatic men.

,

Distinguished historian Carolly Erickson is the author of The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots, The First Elizabeth, The Hidden Life of Josephine, The Last Wife of Henry VIII, and many other prize-winning works of fiction and nonfiction. Her novel The Tsarina’s Daughter won the Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Historical Fiction. She lives in Hawaii.

,

“In her sixth historical novel, Erickson again displays her remarkable ability to paint an exquisitely realistic portrait of Tudor England. . . . This is much more than a historical romance; Erickson’s attention to historical detail and the depiction of Elizabeth’s struggle to maintain her control over her kingdom make for compelling reading. Fans might also be interested in one or more of Erickson’s four Tudor biographies. Historical fiction fans can’t get enough of the Tudors; this engaging story is a worthy addition to the genre.” —Library Journal

“Erickson turns her attention to the dramatic love triangle that changed history. One man, Robert Dudley, held Elizabeth I’s heart and Erickson draws on that love to bring the life of Elizabeth’s cousin and rival, Lettie Knollys, to readers. Erickson portrays Elizabeth as a jealous woman, Dudley as a rake and Lettie as the innocent, endearing her to readers. Rival to the Queen gives this forgotten woman a place in history.” —RT Book Reviews (4.5 stars)

“Erickson’s knowledge and exacting recreation of how it really was in the 1500’s is astonishing and adds much to the story. (It also reminds me that royalty of that period is not to be envied.) Beautiful, intelligent and independent, Lettice leads a life of luxury, but because of the times in which she lived and because of her beauty, her life was always lived on the razor’s edge. . . . If you are a fan of Carolly Erickson or historical fiction, this book is for you.” —Affaire de Coeur

“Erickson writes gracefully.” —Publishers Weekly

“The romance between Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley is a story that has survived the centuries, but what about the woman who married Robert, Lettice Knollys, Elizabeth’s own cousin. . . . A new Carolly Erickson novel is a wonderful and decadent treat, eagerly awaited and Rival to the Queen is no exception. . . . Rival to the Queen shows that political sex scandals and intrigue are not a new thing, and that murder, romance, and power don’t mix well for a happy ending. Fans of Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory will want all of Carolly Erickson’s books on their shelves, these are definitely novels you don’t want to miss out on!” —Night Owl Reviews

Rival to the Queen is a richly detailed telling of a woman who falls in love with the man whom Elizabeth loves to dangle and toy with. From beginning to end, the life and times of Lettice Knollys is intricately portrayed, from her service at court, throughout her first marriage to Walter Deveraux, and on to the days when she meets and falls in love with Robert. She could easily have died for marrying a man–the queen’s favorite!–without Elizabeth’s consent, but instead she is banished from court forever. In part, Rival to the Queen is historical fiction blended with nonfiction, with a sprinkling of romance to boot!” —Romance Reviews Today

Rival to the Queen was published on September 28, 2010.

The Rival to the Queen Audiobook is 1528 hours and 20 minutes. Speechify has the Unabridged edition version of the audiobook.

Both the publication language and the narration language are in English.

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

Subjects in Rival to the Queen

Rival to the Queen includes the following subjects: 16th century historical fiction, British royalty, cousins, Dudley Earl, Earl of Leicester, Elizabeth I, England, British historical fiction, Great Britain, historical fiction, Knollys Leicester, monarchy, nobility, Robert Dudley, Tudors, Tudor England, Tudor fiction, tudor historical fiction, historical romance novels, bestselling authors, womens fiction, women authors, audiobooks, audio books, books on tape. The BISAC Subject Code is Fiction, Historical.

About the Author(s) of Rival to the Queen

The author of Rival to the Queen is Carolly Erickson. Distinguished historian Carolly Erickson is the author of Rival to the Queen, The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots, The First Elizabeth, The Hidden Life of Josephine, The Last Wife of Henry VIII, and many other prize-winning works of fiction and nonfiction. Her novel The Tsarina’s Daughter won the Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best Historical Fiction. She lives in Hawaii.

About the Narrator of Rival to the Queen Audiobook

The narrator for the Rival to the Queen Audiobook is Susan Lyons.

Rival to the Queen Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Audio. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1427211086. The ISBN-13 is 9781427211088.

Global Availability of Rival to the Queen Audiobook

PS, FI, LT, NA, AD, CD, MK, AR, DJ, MY, NE, IQ, MT, AF, KW, WS, TV, PA, MF, SX, CI, TO, HK, KR, GE, BA, ER, KG, BY, SK, AZ, AE, SV, TG, SS, TN, NU, AG, BD, IR, KH, MV, AI, CW, SO, SZ, RU, BV, NC, AW, CY, NI, IN, BH, JO, GF, IS, PL, BQ, CR, ID, UM, NF, KE, ES, CK, MW, TF, ZM, HU, NR, TR, PN, BL, LC, LB, PM, MC, UG, HR, SA, BN, VN, VU, GU, CU, JE, KY, UZ, MN, BZ, GI, SD, AS, ET, VA, NO, FO, LA, SB, CO, AL, VI, WF, SJ, PG, HM, PK, GQ, ME, DO, SL, CC, JM, RW, GL, MD, NP, GG, CH, AU, GD, KM, CM, TJ, TL, RE, CG, HT, TH, DZ, FR, BB, AX, CV, MM, FM, PH, DM, GS, MZ, GM, RO, DE, HN, QA, NG, TW, MQ, TZ, PY, AM, GW, PF, YT, TM, KI, EG, CZ, UY, CL, SY, LR, VG, PR, CA, ML, SR, GN, MU, EE, UA, EH, LS, PE, BR, CN, NZ, RS, GA, BI, GB, LI, FJ, CX, BF, SI, TD, MP, CF, AQ, SC, SG, GT, IT, FK, AO, BE, BS, MH, MO, IE, KZ, BO, GP, MG, LU, KP, MS, PT, TT, JP, SM, TC, TK, IL, DK, GY, IM, LV, PW, ZW, MR, US, YE, BW, BM, VC, GH, OM, BG, LK, BJ, ZA, EC, SH, BT, MA, SN, NL, ST, MX, IO, KN, SE, VE, LY, GR, AT

Related audiobooks

  • The Fort Gordon Korman What if you found a place that nobody else knew about? The morning after Hurricane Leo rips through their town, Evan, Jason, Mitchell, and C.J. find a total mess outside, with downed branches and uprooted trees everywhere. They know they should stay indoors—but they want to go exploring, even if it means having a new kid, Ricky, tag along. Ricky’s the first one to discover a strange trapdoor ... Read more about The Fort
  • The Cockroach Ian McEwan A brilliant, of-the-moment political satire like no other: here is Ian McEwan’s Brexit-era take on Kafka’s Metamorphosis, centered on a cockroach transformed into the prime minister of England. An Anchor Original. That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a giant creature. Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his ... Read more about The Cockroach
  • Lady of Bones Carolyn Haines Carolyn Haines’s Lady of Bones is the next novel in the series that Kirkus Reviewscharacterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney. It’s Halloween season in Mississippi as Sarah Booth and the gang gather to decorate and gush over Tinkie’s new baby, Maylin. Sarah Booth is just about to refresh the cocktails ... Read more about Lady of Bones
  • Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis Ann E. Kearns “No matter your age or bone health, you can take steps to prevent future breaks. The best time to start is now.” Your skeleton is a busy system of living tissue. Every day, bone is being broken down and replaced. But with osteoporosis, this process causes your bones to become weak and fragile. The disease often goes undetected until you have a fall or a painful fracture. However, having ... Read more about Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis
  • Dead Shot J.A. Johnstone Luke Jensen brings a body to Rio Rojo. After all, it’s his job, and he’s going to get paid. But before he can collect the bounty for killing a killer, two notorious criminals hit the Rio Rojo bank. Now Luke can’t get paid unless he catches professional bandit Gunner Kelly and his Apache sidekick Dog Eater. Unfortunately, a would-be man hunter is after the money-toting outlaws, too, and ... Read more about Dead Shot

Choose Language :