Try for free
Home Audiobooks The Cabinet of Wonders

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

The Cabinet of Wonders Audiobook

Publisher List Price: 19.99 USD

Speechify Price: Coming soon

Written by Marie Rutkoski

Narrated by Lorelei King

Published on August 5, 2008

Audio is 1191 hours and 40 minutes

About The Cabinet of Wonders:

Marie Rutkoski’s startling debut novel, the first book in the Kronos Chronicles, about the risks we take to protect those we love, brims with magic, political intrigue, and heroism.

Petra Kronos has a simple, happy life. But it’s never been ordinary. She has a pet tin spider named Astrophil who likes to hide in her snarled hair and give her advice. Her best friend can trap lightning inside a glass sphere. Petra also has a father in faraway Prague who is able to move metal with his mind. He has been commissioned by the prince of Bohemia to build the world’s finest astronomical clock. Petra’s life is forever changed when, one day, her father returns home – blind. The prince has stolen his eyes, enchanted them, and now wears them. But why? Petra doesn’t know, but she knows this: she will go to Prague, sneak into Salamander Castle, and steal her father’s eyes back. Joining forces with Neel, whose fingers extend into invisible ghosts that pick locks and pockets, Petra finds that many people in the castle are not what they seem, and that her father’s clock has powers capable of destroying their world.

The Cabinet of Wonders is a 2009 Bank Street – Best Children’s Book of the Year.

,

The riveting first novel of the Kronos Chronicles

,

Marie Rutkoski’s The Cabinet of Wonders, her debut novel and the first of the Kronos Chronicles, was named an Indie Next Kids’ List Great Read and a Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year, among other honors. Rutkoski is currently a professor at Brooklyn College, where she teaches Renaissance Drama, children’s literature, and creative writing. She lives in New York City with her husband and cat.

LORELEI KING has recorded over 200 audiobooks, including several titles from Janet Evanovich’s bestselling Stephanie Plum series and Darynda Jones’s Charley Davidson series.

,

“…a sweet and charming fantasy, perfect for fans of ELLA ENCHANTED or THE PRINCESS ACADEMY…. Lorelei King is a talented narrator whose superb creation of whimsical characters is beautifully done.” —AudioFile, Winner of an Earphones Award

“In this utterly engrossing book, Marie Rutkoski combines sixteenth century European history with magic-rich fantasy to create a story that readers will find irresistible.” —Through The Looking Glass Children’s Book Review

”Readers . . . who enjoy literary fantasy are likely to savor Marie Rutkoski’s debut novel, which was inspired by the grisly legend associated with the famous astronomical clock in Prague’s Old Town Square.” —The Wall Street Journal

“Like Phillip Pullman’s young Lyra, [Petra] matures in worlds more complex than she had imagined.” —The Chicago Tribune

“Add this heady mix of history and enchantment to the season’s list of astonishingly accomplished first novels. . . . [Petra] proves herself a worthy relative of, say Philip Pullman’s quick-thinking, fearless heroines. . . Infusions of folklore don’t slow down the fast plot but more deeply entrance readers.” —Starred, Publishers Weekly

“Loved this book. Strong girl character. Fascinating alternate Bohemia world. Clever silhouette cover.” —BOUND, MSN Entertainment Book Blog

“For those who like their fantasy with a splash of history, or their history with a twist of magic, this book is ideal.” —School Library Journal

“Fresh and fortuitous.” —The Horn Book

“Rutkoski poses searching questions about perception and judgment, and plants plenty of seeds for future installments, but this first novel of adventure, loyalty and familial love (not to mention magic) wraps up quite satisfyingly.” —Shelf Awareness

“The Cabinet of Wonders is just that–a book to get lost in, to be amazed and astonished by, to explore with curiosity and delight.” —Books & Books, Miami, Florida

“Rutkoski’s fantasy features quirky characters, imaginative world building, and a hint of trouble to come that will create demand for the next book in the planned Kronos Chronicles series.” —Booklist

“Though Rutkoski wraps up her magical tale beautifully, her lovable cast and intriguing scenarios are certain to bring readers back for a second round in The Kronos Chronicles.” —BookPage

“Rutkoski effectively uses the romance of the region and the mystique of gypsy legends to evoke an atmosphere of danger and adventure. Her well-crafted fantasy world is a mix of magic and technology . . . that, along with the thoroughly likeable characters, will quickly draw readers in and have them eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series.” —Bulletin for the Center of Children’s Books

“It was like a mix of Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings.” —A YALSA YA Galley Teen Reader

The Cabinet of Wonders was published on August 5, 2008.

The intended audience for this book is 10 to 14 years old. The The Cabinet of Wonders Audiobook is 1191 hours and 40 minutes. Speechify has the Unabridged edition version of the audiobook.

Both the publication language and the narration language are in English.

Speechify, the World's Audiobook App

Stars.svg
20M+ downloads | 150K+ 5-stars reviews
Scan now to listen it on your phone!

Subjects in The Cabinet of Wonders

The Cabinet of Wonders includes the following subjects: Historical / Europe. The BISAC Subject Code is Juvenile Fiction, Fantasy & Magic.

About the Author(s) of The Cabinet of Wonders

The author of The Cabinet of Wonders is Marie Rutkoski. Born in Illinois, Marie Rutkoski is a graduate of the University of Iowa and Harvard University. She is a professor of English literature at Brooklyn College and a New York Times bestselling author of books for children and young adults. She lives in Brooklyn with her family.

About the Narrator of The Cabinet of Wonders Audiobook

The narrator for the The Cabinet of Wonders Audiobook is Lorelei King.

The Cabinet of Wonders Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Macmillan Young Listeners. It is supplied by MPS. The ISBN-10 is 1427205493. The ISBN-13 is 9781427205490.

Global Availability of The Cabinet of Wonders Audiobook

VI, AS, PR, MP, PH, UM, CA, US, GU, AU, GD, ZM, NZ, CM, NA, NR, GB, FJ, PN, LC, MY, SC, BB, IQ, MT, KW, WS, FK, MM, UG, TV, BS, BN, VU, DM, TO, IE, GM, JE, KY, NG, BZ, GI, MQ, MS, TT, TZ, TC, TK, SB, AG, BD, GY, KI, AI, IM, ZW, SO, SZ, BW, PG, BM, PK, CY, VC, GH, VG, IN, LK, SH, SL, CC, JM, MU, LS, KN, NF, GG, KE, MW, PS, FI, KM, LT, TJ, AD, TL, RE, CG, HT, CD, MK, TH, AR, DZ, DJ, NE, FR, AF, AX, CV, FM, PA, MF, SX, CI, HK, KR, GS, MZ, RO, DE, GE, HN, QA, BA, ER, KG, BY, SK, TW, AZ, AE, SV, PY, TG, SS, TN, NU, AM, GW, PF, IR, YT, TM, EG, KH, CZ, MV, CW, UY, CL, SY, RU, BV, NC, AW, LR, NI, BH, JO, ML, GF, SR, GN, IS, EE, UA, EH, PL, BQ, PE, CR, ID, BR, CN, ES, CK, TF, RS, HU, GA, BI, LI, TR, CX, BL, BF, SI, TD, CF, AQ, LB, PM, SG, GT, IT, MC, AO, BE, HR, SA, MH, VN, CU, MO, KZ, BO, GP, UZ, MN, MG, LU, SD, KP, PT, JP, ET, VA, NO, SM, FO, IL, LA, CO, DK, AL, WF, LV, PW, MR, SJ, YE, HM, OM, BG, GQ, ME, BJ, ZA, EC, DO, BT, RW, GL, MA, SN, NL, MD, NP, ST, MX, IO, SE, VE, LY, GR, AT, CH

Related audiobooks

  • The Fort Gordon Korman What if you found a place that nobody else knew about? The morning after Hurricane Leo rips through their town, Evan, Jason, Mitchell, and C.J. find a total mess outside, with downed branches and uprooted trees everywhere. They know they should stay indoors—but they want to go exploring, even if it means having a new kid, Ricky, tag along. Ricky’s the first one to discover a strange trapdoor ... Read more about The Fort
  • The Cockroach Ian McEwan A brilliant, of-the-moment political satire like no other: here is Ian McEwan’s Brexit-era take on Kafka’s Metamorphosis, centered on a cockroach transformed into the prime minister of England. An Anchor Original. That morning, Jim Sams, clever but by no means profound, woke from uneasy dreams to find himself transformed into a giant creature. Jim Sams has undergone a metamorphosis. In his ... Read more about The Cockroach
  • Lady of Bones Carolyn Haines Carolyn Haines’s Lady of Bones is the next novel in the series that Kirkus Reviewscharacterizes as “Stephanie Plum meets the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” featuring sassy Southern private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney. It’s Halloween season in Mississippi as Sarah Booth and the gang gather to decorate and gush over Tinkie’s new baby, Maylin. Sarah Booth is just about to refresh the cocktails ... Read more about Lady of Bones
  • Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis Ann E. Kearns “No matter your age or bone health, you can take steps to prevent future breaks. The best time to start is now.” Your skeleton is a busy system of living tissue. Every day, bone is being broken down and replaced. But with osteoporosis, this process causes your bones to become weak and fragile. The disease often goes undetected until you have a fall or a painful fracture. However, having ... Read more about Mayo Clinic on Osteoporosis
  • Dead Shot J.A. Johnstone Luke Jensen brings a body to Rio Rojo. After all, it’s his job, and he’s going to get paid. But before he can collect the bounty for killing a killer, two notorious criminals hit the Rio Rojo bank. Now Luke can’t get paid unless he catches professional bandit Gunner Kelly and his Apache sidekick Dog Eater. Unfortunately, a would-be man hunter is after the money-toting outlaws, too, and ... Read more about Dead Shot

Choose Language :