The Emperor of All Maladies

Regular Price: 29.99 USD

The Emperor of All Maladies

Regular Price: 29.99 USD
Get this book for $1

Other top audibooks

Summary

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, this New York Times bestseller is “an extraordinary achievement” (The New Yorker)—a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence.

Physician, researcher, and award-winning science writer, Siddhartha Mukherjee examines cancer with a cellular biologist’s precision, a historian’s perspective, and a biographer’s passion. The result is an astonishingly lucid and eloquent chronicle of a disease humans have lived with—and perished from—for more than five thousand years.

The story of cancer is a story of human ingenuity, resilience, and perseverance, but also of hubris, paternalism, and misperception. Mukherjee recounts centuries of discoveries, setbacks, victories, and deaths, told through the eyes of his predecessors and peers, training their wits against an infinitely resourceful adversary that, just three decades ago, was thought to be easily vanquished in an all-out “war against cancer.” The book reads like a literary thriller with cancer as the protagonist.

Riveting, urgent, and surprising, The Emperor of All Maladies provides a fascinating glimpse into the future of cancer treatments. It is an illuminating book that provides hope and clarity to those seeking to demystify cancer.

Subjects in The Emperor of All Maladies

According to Simon & Schuster Audio, the Publisher of The Emperor of All Maladies Audiobook, The Emperor of All Maladies includes the following subjects: cancer, pulitzer prize, chemotherapy, radiation, science, rhode scholar, stanford, oxford, harvard, cancer cure, cancer survivors, cancer treatments, brain cancer, breast cancer, lung cancer, cellular science, columbia university, leukemia, biology, perseverance, pathology, resilience, pathologist, tumor, cancer genome, hereditary, death of cancer, war on cancer, The Gene, ken burns, pbs documentary, science writing, best nonfiction books, doctors, books for dad, future of cancer, Time 10 Best Nonfiction Books of the 2010s, Time Magazine, 10 Best Nonfiction Books, Best 10 Nonfiction Books, Best Nonfiction of the decade, 10 Best Nonfiction Time, books on oncology, oncology, books about cancer, cancer books, science books, best science books, sapiens, yuval noah harari, being mortal, atul gawande, books about humanity, books about diseases, history of disease, history of science, cure for cancer, finding a cure for cancer, siddhartha mukherjee, laws of medicine, best nonfiction books, most interesting nonfiction books, ken burns, pbs, ken burns documentary, cancer the emperor of all maladies documentary, best documentaries, cancer documentary, cancer throughout history, biography of cancer, is cancer a new disease, first appearance of cancer, is cancer worse now, writer doctors. The BISAC Subject Code is .

About the Author(s) of The Emperor of All Maladies

The author of The Emperor of All Maladies is Siddhartha Mukherjee. Siddhartha Mukherjee is the author of The Gene: An Intimate History, a #1 New York Times bestseller; The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer, winner of the 2011 Pulitzer Prize in general nonfiction; and The Laws of Medicine. He is the editor of Best Science Writing 2013. Mukherjee is an associate professor of medicine at Columbia University and a cancer physician and researcher. A Rhodes scholar, he graduated from Stanford University, University of Oxford, and Harvard Medical School. He has published articles in many journals, including Nature, The New England Journal of Medicine, Cell, The New York Times Magazine, and The New Yorker. He lives in New York with his wife and daughters. Visit his website at: SiddharthaMukherjee.com.

About the Narrator of The Emperor of All Maladies Audiobook

The narrator for the The Emperor of All Maladies Audiobook is Fred Sanders.

The Emperor of All Maladies Audiobook Additional Info

The imprint is Simon & Schuster Audio. It is supplied by Simon & Schuster. The ISBN-10 is 1508214247. The ISBN-13 is 9781508214243.

Global Availability of The Emperor of All Maladies Audiobook

CL, KM, BL, JP, SN, VA, BN, MA, CN, TG, LT, IR, HN, HU, UM, KR, LY, TM, MQ, SG, MN, QA, IL, SA, RW, AO, MD, KP, NO, VN, PA, MF, CD, NP, NL, CA, UA, FM, DK, PF, SM, TH, BQ, MK, SR, BR, CR, DO, ET, IS, RU, SS, FR, GW, PR, PL, WF, BT, BH, TO, KH, US, PY, OM, AS, CW, GQ, GY, IT, BI, MR, SE, WS, LI, HT, PT, AW, PH, EG, EH, ES, DZ, TD, MH, RO, SK, SV, DE, YT, MO, AE, TR, ER, AL, GE, UZ, AR, LB, BE, CZ, AZ, GR, TJ, TN, LV, LR, LU, CO, BO, EE, RS, VE, DJ, KG, AT, BY, GA, NC, BA, AQ, MC, PW, LA, SI, SJ, SX, AD, CV, MG, UY, EC, HR, AF, GN, GP, BF, KZ, AM, TL, MP, NE, PS, BG, BJ, CU, FO, NI, TW, FI, BV, CF, GU, ML, VI, TF, SY, GT, HK, CH, GF, ME, MX, AX, GL, CI, ID, PE

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Premium Audiobooks

  • Fade New York Times bestselling author Kyle Mills rewrites the rules for thrillers with Fade—a novel ripped from today’s headlinesWelcome to the new war on terror. A secret wing of Homeland Security is recruiting agents to work undercover in the Middle East, and the director wants his ... Read Book
  • Her Grace’s Passion Matilda, Duchess of Hadshire, is virtually a prisoner of her cruel husband, who romances his mistress right under the duchess’ nose. Her only joy is dreaming of the handsome Earl of Torridon—for like her, he is trapped in a horrid marriage and longs to find true love and happiness.Though she ... Read Book
  • Last Port of Call Queenstown, County Cork, IrelandApril 1912Twelve-year-old Harp Delaney is an unusual child, quiet and intelligent far beyond her years. She would rather spend her days in the library of the grand Georgian house that she sees as her home than playing on the streets with other children.Her mother, ... Read Book
  • Singer Distance For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe?The odds of the planet next door hosting ... Read Book
  • The Bride’s House The New York Times best-selling author of Whiter Than Snow, Sandra Dallas delivers a novel about the secrets and passions of three generations of women who live in a Victorian Colorado house. While the house is under construction in 1880, a 17-year-old servant imagines living in the “Bride’s ... Read Book
  • The Cartography of Sudden Death Time travel doesn’t actually solve problems. It just makes them more complex….,Charlie Jane Anders is an American journalist, editor, and fiction writer. Her novel Choir Boy (Soft Skull, 2005) won a Lambda Literary Award in 2005, and her Tor.com story “Six Months, Three Days” won the 2012 ... Read Book
  • Walking Alone From the mind of the man Stephen King calls “a master of the macabre,” comes a brilliant new collection of no-punches-pulled horror stories, some never before collected and many originals that have never been published anywhere before. Bentley Little can take the innocuous, twist it around, and ... Read Book
  • World of Warcraft: War Crimes The national bestseller and direct tie-in to the new game expansion pack Warlords of Draenor—a thrilling novel set in the universe of the record-breaking, internationally bestselling video game World of Warcraft!The brutal siege of Orgrimmar is over. Alliance and Horde forces have stripped ... Read Book
  • Caveat Emptor The true story of America’s greatest art forger! Ten years ago, an FBI investigation was about to expose a scandal in the art world that would have been front-page news in New York and London. After a trail of fake paintings of astonishing quality led federal agents to art dealers, renowned ... Read Book

Related audiobooks

  • The Return of the King J. R. R. Tolkien THE THIRD PART OF J.R.R. TOLKIEN’S EPIC MASTERPIECE, THE LORD OF THE RINGS The Dark Lord Sauron has risen, and as he unleashes hordes of Orcs to conquer all Middle-earth, Frodo and Sam struggle deep into his realm in Mordor. To defeat Sauron, the One Ring must be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. But the way is impossibly hard, and Frodo is weakening. The Ring corrupts all who bear it and ... Read more about The Return of the King
  • The Way of Kings Brandon Sanderson From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass ... Read more about The Way of Kings
  • Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”One hundred thousand years ... Read more about Sapiens
  • The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection C S Lewis For over sixty years, readers of all ages have been enchanted by the magical realms, the epic battles between good and evil, and the unforgettable creatures of Narnia.This box set includes all seven titles in The Chronicles of Narnia—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The ... Read more about The Chronicles of Narnia Complete Audio Collection
  • Dune Frank Herbert NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE directed by Denis Villeneuve, starring Timothée Chalamet, Josh Brolin, Jason Momoa, Zendaya, Rebecca Ferguson, Oscar Isaac, Javier Bardem, Dave Bautista, Stellan Skarsgård, and Charlotte Rampling. Set on the desert planet Arrakis, Dune is the story of the boy Paul Atreides, who would become the mysterious man known as Muad’dib. He would avenge the traitorous plot ... Read more about Dune

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :