Try for free
9781665005678
Try for $0.00

Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD

Play Sample
9781665005678
Play Sample

Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 Audiobook

Regular Price: 19.95 USD
Try for $0.00
Try for $0.00
  • One credit a month
    Good for any title to download and keep
  • Listen at up to 4.5x speed
    Get through more content at up to 4.5x speed
  • Fall asleep to your favorite books
    Set a sleep timer while you listen
  • Unlimited listening to our Classics.
    Listen thousands of classics for no extra cost. Ever.
  • Immersive Reading
    Read & listen at same time to a growing catalog.

Other top audiobooks

Never Split the Difference

Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 Audiobook Summary

Hollywood finest movies were dramatized on Screen Directors Playhouse. The stars of the films reprised their roles and the directors were on hand to talk about the making of the film.

Screen Directors Playhouse came to NBC in 1949 and became one of the top drama anthologies featuring Hollywood actors reprising their screen roles a la Lux Radio Theater. The primary focus of the program was the original movie’s director, who not only served as a guest host but also participated in an interview towards the end of the broadcast. Unlike Lux, which featured Cecil B. DeMille as a regular host, Screen Directors Playhouse had a different director every week. Alfred Hitchcock, Frank Capra, William Wellman, Robert Siodmak, George Seaton, Joseph Mankiewicz, George Marshall, and Lewis Milestone were among those appearing. NBC poured a considerable amount of money into the productions. On one particular week, John Wayne and Claire Trevor reprised their screen roles in an adaptation of Stagecoach, with director John Ford chatting about his experiences making the movie. Tallulah Bankhead came back to do Lifeboat, with director Alfred Hitchcock at the helm. Edward G. Robinson revisited his role in The Night Has a Thousand Eyes, Dick Powell replayed his part in Pitfall, and Dorothy McGuire reprised The Spiral Staircase. It was an immediate success and garnered a large audience, lasting until 1951.

Enjoy eight of the best hour-long episodes from this incredible radio series!

3/1/51 – A Foreign Affair 3/15/51 – The File on Thelma Jordon 3/29/51 – Next Time We Love 4/5/51 – The Damned Don’t Cry 4/12/51 – Hired Wife 5/3/51 – The Captain from Castile 7/26/51 – Stairway to Heaven 8/30/51 – Mother Is a Freshman

Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 Audiobook Narrator

a full cast is the narrator of Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 audiobook that was written by Black Eye Entertainment

About the Author(s) of Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2

Black Eye Entertainment is the author of Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2

Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 Full Details

Narratora full cast
Length7 hours and 56 minutes
AuthorBlack Eye Entertainment
PublisherBlackstone Publishing
Release dateMarch 16, 2021
ISBN9781665005678

Subjects

According to Blackstone Publishing, the Publisher of Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 Audiobook, Screen Directors Playhouse, Vol. 2 includes the following subjects: radio, old time radio, golden age, classic, audio theater, full cast The BISAC Subject Code is

Additional info

The imprint is Black Eye Entertainment. It is supplied by Blackstone Publishing. The ISBN-10 is 166500567X. The ISBN-13 is 9781665005678.

Global Availability

This book is only available in the United States.

Most Popular Audiobooks​

Related audiobooks

  • The Sultan’s Wife Jane Johnson Page-turning mystery, grandly seductive romance and full historical immersion into Moroccan court history, this exquisitely depicted and intensely absorbing novel follows in the bestselling tradition of The Tenth Gift and The Salt Road. 1677, Morocco. Behind the magnificent walls and towering arches of the Palace of Meknes, captive chieftain’s son and now a lowly scribe, Nus Nus is framed for ... Read more about The Sultan’s Wife
  • Singer Distance Ethan Chatagnier For fans of Station Eleven and Light from Other Stars, Ethan Chatagnier’s propulsive, genre-bending debut novel asks: What happens when we discover intelligent life just next door? And what does it really mean to know we’re not alone in the universe? The odds of the planet next door hosting intelligent life are―that’s not luck. That’s a miracle. It means something. In December 1960, ... Read more about Singer Distance
  • With the Devil’s Help Neal Wooten In the tradition of The Glass Castle, Educated, and Heartland, Neal Wooten traces five decades of his dirt-poor, Alabama mountain family as the years and secrets coalesce. Neal Wooten grew up in a tiny community atop Sand Mountain, Alabama, where everyone was white and everyone was poor. Prohibition was still embraced. If you wanted alcohol, you had to drive to Georgia or ask the bootlegger ... Read more about With the Devil’s Help
  • The Detective’s Daughter Erica Spindler From Erica Spindler, the New York Times bestselling author of The Other Girl and The Look-Alike, comes The Detective’s Daughter, a thrilling crime drama about a woman who risks everything to solve the cold case that destroyed her father—but will it destroy her as well? New Orleans Detective Quinn Conners is haunted by her father’s whiskey-soaked last words—that he solved the Hudson murder ... Read more about The Detective’s Daughter
  • Tearing Us Apart Ryan T. Anderson The political philosopher Ryan T. Anderson, bestselling author of When Harry Became Sally: Responding to the Transgender Moment, teams up with the pro-life journalist Alexandra DeSanctis to expose the catastrophic failure—social, political, legal, and personal—of legalized abortion. Hope in the Ruins of Roe With the Supreme Court poised to return abortion law to the democratic process, a ... Read more about Tearing Us Apart

Scan the QR code to continue on your phone

Choose Language :